Four accused sentenced to eight years imprisonment each for tampering with essential infrastructure

Milton Ncube (36), Talent Moyo (26), Malacky Moyo (47) and Mphokeleli Ndlovu (26) were on Friday, 11 February 2022, sentenced by the Klerksdorp Regional Court to eight years imprisonment each for tampering with essential infrastructure

The accused’ sentencing emanated from their apprehension in September 2019 in Klerksdorp in connection with theft of 18 lithium batteries from a tower belonging to one of the cellular phones service providers. According to reports, the batteries were initially stolen and replaced, but stolen again the following day. Consequent to the intensive search by the police and private security personnel in Klerksdorp, a white Toyota Fortuner was eventually spotted driving away from the tower. The suspects were ultimately arrested in Potchefstroom by the local Flying Squad members and 18 batteries were found in their vehicle. The accused were linked to two more cases of tampering with essential infrastructure committed in September 2019 in Klerksdorp and Potchefstroom respectively.

The accused’s bail application was successfully opposed. As a result, they remained in custody until their sentencing.

The court further declared them unfit to possess firearms and ordered for their deportation to Zimbabwe after completion of their sentences.

The North West Provincial Commissioner, Lieutenant General Sello Kwena lauded all role players for their dedication that resulted in securing of the sentences which he said will certainly sound a warning that those who tamper or destroy essential infrastructure, will be dealt with harshly.

Source: South African Police Service

Related Articles