Nudo reinstates suspended and expelled members

OPUWO: The National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo) on Saturday resolved to adopt the National Executive Committee’s recommendations and reinstate suspended and expelled party members who were accused of fragmenting party legislation and sowing disunity, among other reasons.

This is according to a statement issued on Tuesday by Kapukatua Kuvare, Nudo National Council’s vice chairperson.

Nudo’s National Council in a meeting in Windhoek on Sunday resolved to lift the suspension of National Council member Ambros Mundjindjiri and reinstate him to his previous position, as well as the reinstatement of former long-serving Okakarara constituency councillor Vetaruhe Kandorozu, who faced off against Utjiua Muinjangue in the party’s internal election for the top nine members of Nudo’s leadership in 2019 and lost by a small margin.

Following the election in which the majority of Kandorozu’s camp members lost to Muinjangue’s faction, the party became embroiled in a war of words between the two factions, prompting
the current leadership to suspend and ultimately remove Kandorozu from the party.

Kandorozu was accused of orchestrating an anti-Muinjangue campaign during the 2020 presidential and national assembly elections, urging his supporters to vote for former independent candidate Panduleni Itula, who currently serves as the President of Independent Patriots for Change.

‘After a lengthy discussion on this topic, the NC confirmed the NEC’s decision of October 2022 to re-instate the expelled members as ordinary members without their previous positions as a punishment for their transgression for sowing disunity within the party,’ stated Kuvare.

Furthermore, Kuvare added that the party reinstated Nudo council members Veneruru Korumbo and Mbamanovandu Tuamunika following a protracted period of disciplinary proceedings in which they were accused of bringing the party into disrepute.

During Sunday’s meeting, the party endorsed the NEC’s decision to hold the National Elective Congress on 27 April 2024 in Windhoek.

ding to Kuvare, the opposition party has formed a National Elective Congress Organising Committee (NGOC) that will report to the Secretary-General (SG) and includes Nockey Kaapehi, Israel Hukura, Nokokure Veii, Vetondisa Tjijenda, Chief Boas Tjingaete and Chief Rukambe Uazukuani.

Source: The Namibia Press Agency

Related Articles